

Memorandum of Understanding Between the SBCC Faculty Association ("FA") and the Santa Barbara City College District July 25, 2018

Compensation of Department Chairs for Curriculum Work Done to Make Modifications, Review and Approve Non-Credit Courses

The parties agree to the following:

- 1. This agreement supersedes the MOU Compensation of Department Chairs Pertaining to Migration From Fee Based to Non Credit entered on May 25, 2018.
- 2. This agreement addresses work completed by department chairs (or their designees) to make modifications, review and approve non-credit courses "migrating" from fee based courses or non-credit courses that originated otherwise during the formation of the School of Extended Learning during the period of January 1, 2017 through June 30, 2019.
- 3. The District will pay a stipend of up to three hours per course at the contractual rate (Schedule 9, Step 9).
- 4. The faculty requesting compensation have to provide an activity report for the hours claimed.
- 5. The parties acknowledge that by June 30, 2019, compensation for non-credit coursework modifications, review, and approval will be included in the leadership stipend formula. For this reason, the Committee for Non-Teaching Compensation will be tasked to review the current department chair formula.
- 6. This agreement is not precedent setting.

Cornelia Alsheimer Faculty Association President

malita.

Monalisa Hasson, Ed.D. Santa Barbara Community College District Vice President, HR