## Santa Barbara City College College Planning Council Tuesday, February 4, 2014 3:00 – 4:30 p.m. A218C

#### Minutes

#### PRESENT:

L. Gaskin, President L. Auchincloss, President, CSEA P. Butler, Chair, Planning & Resources Committee R. Else, Sr. Director, Institutional Assessment, Assessment and Research P. English, VP, Human Resources J. Friedlander, Executive VP, Ed Programs E. Katzenson, AS President J. McPheter, Classified Staff Representative M. Medel, Supervisor Bargaining Unit K. Monda, Academic Senate Representative K. Neufeld, President, Academic Senate K. O'Connor, Academic Senate Representative C. Salazar, Classified Staff Representative J. Sullivan, VP, Business Services L. Vasquez, VP, Academic Senate D. Watkins, Managers Group Representative

#### ABSENT:

P. Bishop, VP, Information Technology

#### 1.0 CALL TO ORDER

- 1.1 M/S/C (Butler/Vasquez) to approve the 12/3/13 CPC minutes with one correction: "Jack Friedlander chaired the meeting in Lori Gaskin's absence." All were in favor.
- 1.2 M/S/C (Salazar/Auchincloss) to approve the 12/10/13 CPC minutes with one correction: "5.1 M/S/C (Butler/O'Connor) to approve ranking only those resource requests identified as priority one (1) in all categories by departments." All were in favor.

#### 2.0 ANNOUNCEMENTS

- 2.1 Dr. Gaskin welcomed and congratulated Michael Medel on his appointment as Director of Admissions and Records.
- 2.2 Priscilla Butler pointed out the omission to her name on the agenda masthead. The correction will be made.

**GUESTS**:

- S. Dixon, Continuing Education
- B. Freeman, LRC
- D. Hollems, Continuing Education
- I. Sakelarieva, Continuing Education
- A. Scharper, Educational Programs
- M. Spaventa, Educational Programs
- L. Stark, Instructors' Association
- J. Zavas, Asst. Controller

2.3 Dr. Gaskin changed the name of the Executive Council to President's Cabinet.

#### 3.0 INFORMATION ITEMS

- 3.1 Replacement of Budgeted Positions P. English None to report.
- 3.2 Clarifying Equipment Replacement Requests L. Gaskin Verified equipment replacement requests for the 2014-15 budget development, as submitted through Program Review, will be supported to the extent that funds are available. Such requests will not be ranked.
- 3.3 Resource Guide to Decision Making R. Else Per the annual evaluation cycle, Mr. Else will bring the Resource Guide to Decision Making to CPC for review. Mr. Else and Dr. Gaskin will confer as to how often the document needs to be reviewed by the Council.

#### 4.0 DISCUSSION ITEMS

#### 5.0 ACTION ITEMS

5.1 Completion of the Reorganization of the Continuing Education Division into the Educational Programs Division: First Reading -- J. Friedlander (Att. 5.1) Dr. Friedlander reviewed the reorganization of the Continuing Education Division. With regard to the previous year's events and in consultation with Continuing Education (CE) staff and deans, it has been determined that a new 12 month full-time CE Program Coordinator position needs to be established in order to provide appropriate support for CE ESL, short-term Career and Technical Education, Adult High School, and GED programs.

Discussion ensued regarding faculty evaluations. Council was informed that ESL has an evaluation cycle in place. It was suggested that the position may more appropriately be filled by a faculty member who is qualified to facilitate curriculum, as well as hire and evaluate faculty, duties that a classified employee cannot perform.

ESL has requested that curriculum and evaluation for CE ESL be stipended to credit ESL faculty.

Priscilla Butler, currently acting as ESL Liaison, briefly reviewed the responsibilities of the position.

Dr. Friedlander agreed to provide clarification at the February 18, 2014 CPC meeting with regard to the issues of curriculum, faculty hiring, and evaluations.

Dr. Gaskin expressed gratitude to Priscilla Butler and Jack Friedlander for their roles in the reorganization of the Continuing Education Division.

5.2 Formation of an Institutional Effectiveness Committee: Second Reading – R. Else

Mr. Else reviewed the purpose of the Institutional Effectiveness Committee. He noted that in addition to analyzing student data, making recommendations to CPC based on data analyses, and fostering dialog and assessment with regard to SBCC's effectiveness in supporting student learning, the committee would also help set the agenda for the Institutional Research office.

After discussion, it was suggested to include two additional committee members for a total of ten (10) members to be composed of the following:

- Chair: Sr. Director, Institutional Assessment, Research and Planning
- 3 Faculty: Academic Senate President, Student Success Initiative related faculty member, plus one (1) TBD
- 3 Classified: Research & Assessment Analyst, Information Systems Analyst III, plus one (1) TBD
- 2 Management: Executive Vice President, Educational Programs, Dean of Educational Programs/Student Success Initiative
- 1 Student: TBD

Research and data report requests would come to the committee for prioritization and processing.

#### M/S/C (Monda/Neufeld) to approve the formation of an Institutional Effectiveness Committee with one additional faculty member and one additional classified staff member for a total of 10 committee members. All were in favor.

5.3 Follow-Up Report to Accreditation Commission for Community and Junior Colleges from the Accreditation Task Force: Second Reading – R. Else (Att. 5.3) Mr. Else reported that there were no substantive changes made to the Follow-Up Report to the Accreditation Commission for Community and Junior Colleges since the first reading of the report at the December 10, 2013 CPC meeting. Upon approval by CPC, the report will be submitted to the Board of Trustees (BOT) for a first reading at the February 27, 2014 BOT meeting, and subsequently submitted for a second reading and action at the March 13, 2014 BOT meeting. Once approved by the Board, the report will be sent with evidence to the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges by March 15, 2014.

Dr. Gaskin expressed gratitude to the Accreditation Task Force for their work on the report. The committee was composed of Dean Nevins, Kenley Neufeld, Robert Else, Allison Curtis, Peter Haslund, Marty Blum, and Liz Auchincloss.

# M/S/C (Neufeld/Vasquez) to approve the Follow-Up Report to the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges. All were in favor.

### 6.0 ADJOURNMENT

6.1 The next regularly scheduled CPC meeting will be held on Tuesday, February 18, 2014 in Room 218C, 3:00-4:30 p.m.