## SANTA BARBARA CITY COLLEGE COLLEGE PLANNING COUNCIL June 4, 1991

## MINUTES

PRESENT: J. Romo, M. Bobgan, L. Fairly, K. Hanna, B. Hull, C. Kuster, J. Meyer, D. Oroz, B. Vincent. RESOURCE: G. Gregg, B. Hamre. GUEST: G. Carroll (Academic Senate Elect)

# **REPORTS/DISCUSSIONS**

### STATEMENT OF INSTITUTIONAL DIRECTIONS

Mr. Hamre distributed copies of the latest draft of the S.I.D. He thanked President MacDougall and Vice Presidents Fairly and Romo for their extensive and thorough review of the document.

Members reviewed the recommendations, clarifications and comments submitted by the President and Vice President, and made revisions which were appropriate. Members concurred that the SID should include a separate section on the Foundation for Santa Barbara City College. B. Hamre will meet with J. Minow to draft a statement. After a thorough and productive review of the entire document, members took the following action:

M/S/C Hanna/Vincent - Unanimous

To accept the Statement of Institutional Directions as amended with the condition that a subcommittee review and refine the language under Section II: Instructional Mission. Members of the sub- committee are G. Carroll, B. Hamre, K. Hanna, C. Kuster, and J. Romo.

#### DCC AND CPC SUMMER REPRESENTATIVES

G. Carroll, B. Hull, C. Kuster, and J. Meyer agreed to serve as summer reps to the Division Chair and College Planning Councils if these committees have to be convened.

#### COLLEGE COMPUTER COORDINATING COMMITTEE

Members reviewed the proposed membership list for the College Computer Coordinating Committee submitted by the Division Council and a list proposed by the Rep Council. The DCC proposal recommends the following membership:

- A. Director of Educational Technolopgy and Microcomputer Services
- B. Administrative Representatives (4 from among the following):
  - 1. Vice President, Academic Affairs or designee
  - 2. Vice President, Business Services or designee
  - 3. Vice President, Human Services or designee
  - 4. Vice President, Student Services or designee
  - 5. Vice President, Continuing Education or designee

- C. Faculty Representatives (4)
  - 1. Academic Senate President or designee
  - 2. Curriculum Advisory Committee Rep
  - 3. Division Chair Council Rep
  - 4. Chair of Instructional Computing Planning Committee (ICPC) or Computer Assisted Instruction (CAI)
- D. Classified Rep
- E. Student Rep
- F. Other Reps (non-voting)
  - 1. Assistant to the President
  - 2. Chairperson of Computer Science Department
  - 3. Library Rep

Rep Council recommendations differed on faculty reps and non-voting reps:

- B. Faculty Reps
  - 1. DCC Rep
  - 2. Chair, Computer Science
  - 3. Continuing Ed Faculty Rep
  - 4. Chairperson of ICPC or CAI
- F. Non-voting
  - 1. President Academic Senate
  - 2. Assistant to the President
  - 3. Library Rep
- M/S Hanna/Meyer
  - To accept the Rep Council model with these changes:
  - (1) Delete the rep from Continuing Education
  - (2) Add Academic Senate President or designee

There was a lengthy discussion on the proposal to include the Chair of the Computer Science Department as a Faculty representative. Members generally concurred that the CS department should have committee status because of its resource capabilities and control of the new VAX, but felt that the department rep should be a non-voting resource member. The Hanna/Meyer motion was then amended as follows:

M/S/C To move the Chair of Computer Science to the non-voting resource category, and to add a representative from the Curriculum Advisory Committee to the Faculty Rep category.

AYES: 4 ABST. 1

(A listing of the approved membership list is attached.)

jdm

cc: Dr. Peter R. MacDougall, Deans/Assistant Deans, Division/Department Chairs, Mr. Hamre, Mr. Gregg, Mr. Pickering, Instructor's Association, Classified Representative

Attachment